Finnish-German-Norwegian expert team GeoReN awarded a framework agreement to support Norwegian Nuclear Decommissioning in the management of radioactive waste

News, Press release

Norwegian Nuclear Decommissioning (NND) is responsible for radioactive waste management in Norway. NND has awarded an extensive framework agreement to the expert team GeoReN (Geological Repositories for Norway), which consists of A-Insinöörit Oy of Finland (AINS Group), BGE TECHNOLOGY GmbH of Germany (BGE TEC), Geological Survey of Finland (GTK), Mitta Oy of Finland (Mitta), Posiva Solutions Oy of Finland (PSOY), and the Technical Research Centre of Finland (VTT), with subcontracting assistance from Rambøll of Norway. The work covers the development of disposal solutions for spent nuclear fuel and other radioactive waste streams in Norway. The framework agreement worth EUR 40 million includes significant technical assistance for NND in the upcoming years, with the GeoReN team as the sole provider of services as a single framework award.

With roots in Finland, home to the world’s first deep geological repository for spent nuclear fuel, the winning team has extensive experience in radioactive waste management and geological repository development. The Finnish-German-Norwegian expert team will provide NND with world-renowned expertise in developing long-term, safe, reliable, and cost-effective radioactive waste management concepts and solutions.

The team represents globally unique expertise in that the disposal concepts and technical support offered are based on concrete experience from several repositories, operational and under construction, encompassing different geologies and concepts, and covering all radioactive waste types and streams from low- and intermediate-level operational, and decommissioning waste to high-level research reactor spent fuel.

"NND is looking forward to cooperating with GeoReN who have a unique track record in developing safe solutions for radioactive waste disposal, thus enhancing stakeholder confidence in our operations”, considers Nils Bøhmer, CTO of NND. 

“Our team is committed to a robust, efficient, and successful disposal program for Norway, building on our array of experience, and the work our team members have done in recent years to support NND in starting their program. We will succeed together, by enabling NND to be an intelligent customer with procuring solutions suited to their needs”, states Teemu Laurila, coordinator of the consortium and the lead of Mitta’s nuclear waste management business.

Further information: 
Timo Saanio, A-Insinöörit Civil Oy, timo.saanio@ains.fi
Toivo Wanne, BGE TEC, Toivo.Wanne@bge.de
Hannu Lahtinen, GTK, hannu.lahtinen@gtk.fi
Teemu Laurila, Coordinator, Mitta Oy, teemu.laurila@mitta.fi
Mika Pohjonen, PSOY, mika.pohjonen@posiva.fi, 
Erika Holt, VTT, erika.holt@vtt.fi
Tom Jahren, Ramboll, tom.jahren@ramboll.no
Nils Bøhmer, nils.bohmer@nnd.no
 
Read more at https://www.norskdekommisjonering.no/about-nnd/ 
Picture: Conceptual design of the National Facility for radioactive waste in Norway. (GeoReN)

Share
Erika Holt
Erika Holt
Customer Account Lead

The efficient utilisation of renewable and carbon-neutral energy in industry, transport, and construction holds a key position in solving climate issues. However, everyone can take part in a clean energy system, including ordinary people like us. Even small choices by individuals have a great impact.

Industries
Research expertise