Outi Ervasti and Sonja Hämäläinen appointed to VTT’s board of directors

News, Company news

On 31 March 2023, the annual general meeting of VTT appointed Outi Ervasti and Sonja Hämäläinen as new members of VTT Board.

Outi Ervasti acts as the Vice President, Renewable Hydrogen at Neste, and Sonja Hämäläinen heads the Labour migration and integration unit in the Ministry of Economic Affairs and Employment. Hämäläinen will also become the Vice-Chair of the VTT Board.

Pekka Tiitinen, Managing Director at ABB Finland, will continue as the Chair of the Board.

Besides Pekka Tiitinen, continuing as VTT Board members are Rector Jukka Kola (University of Turku), Managing Partner Teemu Moisala (Vuono Group), Managing Director Erno Muuranto (GE Healthcare Finland) and CFO Kaarina Muurinen (Vaisala).

Heli Antila and Marja-Riitta Pihlman end their work in the VTT Board. Our warmest thanks to Antila and Pihlman for their contribution and efforts.

The annual general meeting of VTT appoints the Board of VTT. The tasks of the Board include confirming the company's strategy, overseeing the implementation of the strategy and being responsible for the profitability and proper organisation of operations at VTT. VTT is a Finnish, wholly state-owned limited liability company operating under the ownership steering of the Ministry of Economic Affairs and Employment. VTT’s task as an independent and impartial research organisation is to promote the wide-ranging utilisation and commercialisation of research and technology in industry, commerce, and society.

Composition of VTT Board as of 31 March 2023

  • Chair: Pekka Tiitinen, Managing Director, ABB Finland Oy 
  • Vice-Chair: Sonja Hämäläinen, Migration Director, Ministry of Economic Affairs and Employment 
  • Outi Ervasti, Vice President, Renewable Hydrogen, Neste Oyj
  • Jukka Kola, Rector, University of Turku
  • Teemu Moisala, Managing Partner, Vuono Group Oy
  • Erno Muuranto, Managing Director, GE Healthcare Finland Oy
  • Kaarina Muurinen, CFO, Vaisala Oyj
Antti Vasara
Antti Vasara