A forest and lake reflecting sky and clouds as shot from above.

VTT Board

The tasks of VTT Board include confirming the company's strategy, overseeing the implementation of the strategy and being responsible for the profitability and proper organisation of operations at VTT. The annual general meeting of VTT reviews the composition of and appoints the Board.

Pekka Tiitinen

Managing Director, ABB Oy; Director, ABB Motion Region
B. 1967
M.Sc. (Electrical Engineering), Doctor of Science h.c. 
Chair of the VTT Board

  • Managing Director at ABB since 2016
  • Member of the Board of Technology Industries of Finland
  • ABB Oy Finland, Chair of the Board
  • ABB pension foundation Finland, Member of the Board
  • ABB Netherlands, Chair of the Board
  • ABB Belgium, Chair of the Board
  • ABB Estonia, Chair of the Board
  • ABB Latvia, Chair of the Board
  • ABB Denmark, Chair of the Board
  • Previous positions: ABB Group, Switzerland, President, member of the executive committee 2013-2016. ABB Group, Managing Director, LV Drives, Drives and Controls 2002-2013. ABB Group, Region Division Manager 2005-2010. ABB China 2013-2017, Member of the Board; ABB Drives China, Member of the Board 2002-2013.

Twitter: @pekkatiitinen1

Valokuva VTT:n hallituksen puheenjohtajasta Pekka Tiitisestä

Marja-Riitta Pihlman

Director General, Ministry of Economic Affairs and Employment
B. 1957
Vice Chair of the VTT Board

  • Previous positions: Ministry of Employment, Industrial Counsellor 1999-2007. Various leader positions at the Helsinki region employment office services 1982-1999. 

Twitter: @MarjaPihlman

Valokuva VTT:n hallituksen varapuheenjohtajasta Marja-Riitta Pihlmanista

Heli Antila

Vice president, Biobased solutions, Fortum Power and Heat Oy    
B. 1963
D.Sc. (Tech) 

  • At Fortum since 2012
  • Chair of the Board of Chempolis Oy
  • Member of the Board of Infinited Fiber Company Oy
  • Member of the Board of Assam Biorefinary Private Limited (India) 
  • Previous positions: Pöyry, Director 2012-1997. Tampere University of Technology, various research and teaching positions 1987-1997.

Twitter: @AntilaHeli

Valokuva VTT:n hallituksen jäsenestä Heli Antilasta

Matti Hietanen

CEO, Finnish Minerals Group 
B. 1977 
LL.M. with court training, M.Sc. (Econ) 

  • CEO at Finnish Minerals Group since 2018
  • Vice Chair of the Board of Terrafame Ltd 2017-
  • Chair of the Board of Finnish Battery Chemicals Oy 2019-
  • Previous positions: Terrafame Group Oy, CEO 2015–2018. Ministry of Economic Affairs and Employment, Government Counsellor 2013–2015. Ministry of Education and Culture, various positions 2005–2013. Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry, Senior Advisor 2004–2005. Evli Bank Plc, Lawyer 2003.

Twitter: @MattiHietanen

Photo of VTT board member Matti Hietanen

Jukka Kola

Rector, University of Turku 
B. 1960 
D.Sc. (Agriculture and Forestry); M.Sc.

  • Rector at University of Turku since 2019
  • Chair of the Forum for higher education and international affairs in research
  • Member of the Board of Universities Finland (UNIFI)
  • Member of the Board of the OP Group research foundation 
  • Member of the Board of the Turku University Foundation 
  • Member of the Board of Turku Science Park Oy
  • Previous positions: University of Helsinki, Rector 2013-2018, Vice Rector 2010-2013, Dean, Faculty of Agriculture and Forestry 2004-2009, Head, Department of Economics and Management 2001-2003. Member of the Board of the League of European Research Universities (LERU) 2016-2018.

Twitter: @JukkaKola

Photo of VTT board member Jukka Kola

Harri Leiviskä

CFO, Dayton Group  
B. 1968 
M.Sc. (Econ), MBA 

  • CFO at Dayton Group since 2020
  • Previous positions: Empower, CFO 2018-2019. Suunto, CFO 2009-2018. AstraZeneca Finland, CFO 2005-2009. Nokia Mobile Phones and Nokia Networks, various positions 1996-2005. 

Twitter: @HLeiviska

Valokuva VTT:n hallituksen Harri Leiviskästä

Teemu Moisala

CEO, Futurice
B. 1974
BA, International Business Studies 
- CEO at Futurice Oy since 2018
- Chair of the Board of Columbia Road Oy
- Previous positions: Futurice Oy, Managing Director Finland 2016-2018, Head of Business 2007-2016. BenQ Mobile GmbH, Senior Manager 2005-2006. Siemens Oyj, Product and Marketing Manager 2000-2005.

Twitter: @tmoi

Valokuva VTT:n hallituksen Teemu Moisalasta