Executive leadership team

VTT is part of Finland's innovation system and operates under the mandate of the Ministry of Employment and the Economy. Our executive leadership team consists of the business and service areas leaders. The tasks of VTT Board include confirming the company's strategy, overseeing the implementation of the strategy and being responsible for the profitability and proper organisation of operations at VTT. The annual general meeting of VTT reviews the composition of and appoints the Board.

Antti Vasara

President & CEO
B. 1965  
DSc (Tech)

  • VTT’s President and CEO since 2015
  • President of the Executive Board of EARTO (European Association of Research and Technology Organisations)
  • Member of the Board and the Audit Committee of Elisa
  • Member of the Research and Innovation Council 
  • Member of the Board of Jane and Aatos Erkko Foundation 
  • Member of the Supervisory Board of Ilmarinen
  • Previous positions: Tieto Oyj, Executive Vice President, Product Development Services 2012–2015. Nokia Oyj, Senior Vice President 2003–2012. SmartTrust Oy, CEO 2000–2003. McKinsey & Company, Senior Engagement Manager 1993–2000.

Twitter: @ahavasara

Picture of Antti Vasara

Tua Huomo

Executive Vice President, Sustainable products and materials
B. 1969  

  • EVP of VTT’s Sustainable products and materials business area since 2021
  • Vice Chair of the Board of CSC – IT Center for Science
  • Member of the Board of JRC (European Joint Research Centre)
  • Executive Vice President in the Board of Directors of University of Oulu
  • Previous positions: VTT, various positions 1997–2001 and since 2004 (e.g. EVP of the Knowledge-intensive products and services business area 2018–2020). Cybelius SW, Director 2001–2004.

Twitter: @TuaHuomo

Picture of Tua Huomo

Erja Turunen

Executive Vice President, Digital technologies
B. 1969 
DSc (Tech)

  • EVP of VTT’s Digital technologies business area since 2021
  • Member of the Board of The Finnish Climate Fund
  • Member of the Board of EIT Raw materials GmbH
  • Member of the Board of Enter Espoo
  • Previous positions: VTT, various positions since 2000 (e.g. EVP of the Smart Industry and Energy Systems business area 2016–2020). TUT 1998–1999. RWTH Aachen, Germany 1997–1998. TUT 1992–1997.

Twitter: @turunen_erja

Picture of Erja Turunen

Jussi Manninen

Executive Vice President, Carbon neutral solutions
B. 1967 

  • EVP of VTT’s Carbon neutral solutions business area since 2021
  • Member of the Board of Global Compact Network Finland
  • Member of the Board of A.SPIRE aisbl 
  • Previous positions: VTT, various positions since 1999 (e.g. EVP of the Solutions for natural resources and environment business area 2016–2020). Ministry of Economic Affairs and Employment, Program Director 2014–2016.

Twitter: @jjmanninen

Picture of Jussi Manninen

Marko Koistila

Executive Vice President, Commercial Operations
B. 1970
B.Sc. (Pharmacy)

  • VTT’s EVP, Commercial Operations since 2022
  • Previous positions: VTT, VP, Sales and Customer Partnerships 2019–2022. GSK, various positions 2005–2019.

Twitter: @MKoistila

Picture of Marko Koistila

Tanja Huoponen

Chief Financial Officer
B. 1970
MSc (Econ), eMBA  

  • VTT’s CFO since 2016
  • Previous positions: TDC Oy, CFO 2008–2015. TDC Oy, Business Controlling Manager 2002–2008. 

Twitter: @TanjaHuoponen

Picture of Tanja Huoponen

Kirsi Nuotto

Senior Vice President, Human Resources
B. 1959 

  • VTT’s SVP, Human Resources since 2016 
  • Member of the Board of Fintraffic and Chair of the personnel committee
  • Previous positions: Outotec Oyj, SVP, Human Resources 2013–2016. Cargotec Oyj, EVP, Human Resources and Communications 2006–2012. GlaxoSmithKline Oy, Human Resources Director / Finland 2001–2006. Datex-Ohmeda Oy, Director, Global Education 1998–2001.

Twitter: @KNuotto

Picture of Kirsi Nuotto

Laura Juvonen

Senior Vice President, Strategy and Business Intelligence
B. 1975 

  • VTT’s Senior Vice President, Strategy and Business Intelligence
  • Member of the Board of Dimecc Oy
  • Previous positions: Technology Industries of Finland, Executive Director 2015–2021. Finnish Foundation for Technology Promotion, Managing Director (part-time) 2017–2019. Technology Industries of Finland Centennial Foundation, Managing Director 2014–2019. Spinverse, Consultant 2004–2014. Aalto University, various positions 1996–2004.

Twitter: @Laura_Juvonen

Picture of Laura Juvonen

Petri Järvinen

Senior Vice President, Operational Excellence, Digitalization and Sustainability

  • VTT's Senior Vice President, Operational Excellence, Digitalization and Sustainability since 2024
Petri Järvinen

Anu Vaari

Senior Scientist, personnel representative
B. 1962 

  • Employee representative
  • Council and a Vice Member of the Board of Academic Engineers and Architects in Finland TEK
  • Various positions at VTT since 1986

Twitter: @AnuVaari

Picture of Anu Vaari